Vote button logo.

Election Results Sees Shakeup On Board Of Education

Vote button logo.

A shakeup could soon be on the way for the Grand Island Public School Board,  when election results get certified as official. 


According to the late night election numbers all three Chaperone endorsed candidates will be moving onto the board of education. 

Ward B was won easily by Hank Mcfarland defeating Tim Mayfield by a 66/33 margin 

In Ward A write in candidates Josh Sikes and Amanda Wilson were both the leading vote getters although by very thin margins Sikes finished with an unofficial total of 2,097 votes, Wilson with 1,983 and Terry Brown 1,956

At the State Board of education race in District 6 it was Sherry Jones winning by a comfortable margin over her opponent Danilelle Helzer.


City Hall

Mayor Roger Steele was re-elected by Grand Island voters to another four year term. 

In a very close race Steele picked up just over 51 percent of the election day vote over his opponent Doug Brown. 

Staying At City Hall, the makeup of the Grand Island City Council was decided on election day.


Jack Sheard will join the council after winning his uncontested race in ward 1

Incumbents Mitch Nickerson, Maggie Mendoza and Jason Conley have been re-elected to the Grand Island City Council.

Douglas Lanfear was elected to the ward 5 seat that was vacated by Justin Scott, who chose not to seek re-election.

State Legislature

Loren Lippincott won a seat in the Nebraska Legislature, representing District 34.

Lippincott finished with 67.7% of the vote

Lippincott will replace Sen. Curt Friesen of Henderson, who was term-limited.


Republican Jim Pillen has defeated Democratic state Sen. Carol Blood to become the next governor of Nebraska.

The state hasn’t elected a Democrat as governor since 1994, and Pillen was the clear favorite on Tuesday after defeating eight other candidates, including one backed by former President Donald Trump, in a contentious spring primary. 

Pillen is a hog farm owner and veterinarian from Columbus who also serves on the University of Nebraska Board of Regents. He will replace Gov. Pete Ricketts, who couldn’t run for reelection because of term limits. 

Congressional Races

Republican Mike Flood wins reelection to U.S. House in Nebraska's 1st Congressional District.

Republican Rep. Don Bacon has won a fourth term serving the Omaha-based 2nd Congressional District, which is typically Nebraska’s only competitive U.S. House district 

Bacon on Tuesday defeated Democrat Tony Vargas, a state lawmaker from Omaha who touted his experience as a teacher and member of the Omaha school board. 

Republican Adrian Smith wins reelection to U.S. House in Nebraska's 3rd Congressional District.

Ballot Initiatives

Nebraska voters have decided to significantly raise the state's minimum wage to $15 an hour over the next several years and require voters to provide government identification at polling places. 

The wage and voter ID measures approved Tuesday got on the ballot through signature-gathering campaigns. 

The pay measure will gradually increase the minimum wage from the current $9 an hour to $15 hourly by 2026, with the first bump to $10.50 instituted in January 2023. 

Gov. Pete Ricketts and some business groups opposed the measure. 

Voters also supported a ballot measure that will help airports across the state attract more airlines by offering revenue guarantees to an airline during the first few months of new service.


<< Previous Next >>