Vote button logo.

Election Results

Vote button logo.

Tuesday was Primary Election Day across the state of Nebraska and the results are in…

University of Nebraska regent, Jim Pillen, has won the state’s crowded Republican primary race for governor

Pillen beat eight challengers, including former President Trump’s pick Charles Herbster, who was accused late in the campaign of groping young women.

Pillen will face Democratic nominee Carol Blood and Libertarian candidate Scott Zimmerman in the November General Election 

In Hall County Voter turnout for Tuesday’s Primary was at 28%

In the Grand Island mayor race, Roger Steele took the top spot with 3,716 votes.

Doug Brown finished in second with 1,850 votes just 200 votes more than third place finisher Juile Wright.

Steele will face off with Brown in the general election 

For Hall County Treasurer Alaina Verplank finished with 72% of the vote in her primary battle, with no democratic challengers, Verplank will head to the general election uncontested.

In the race for State Treasurer Republican John Murante advanced out of his primary over Paul Anderson by a 56 to 43 % vote 

Murante will face Libertarian candidate Katrina Tomsen in the November General election 

Primary results are also in for two local state board of education races 

Kirk Penner took the top spot in district five with 60% of the vote, while Sherry Jones won her primary race in district six with 69% of the vote.

The battles for Nebraska’s Three Congressional seats are set.

Republican Mike Flood cruised through the gop primary field along with his democratic challenger Patty Pansing Brooks. 

The two are already set to square off this summer in a special election to fill the remainder on Jeff Fortenberry’s term. Fortenberry resigned after being found guilty of lying to federal agents about an illegal donation to his campaign.

In the Omaha centric second congressional district it will be Don Bacon vs democratic challenger Tony Vargas after Vargas beat out challenger Alicia Shelton 


It will be a three person race in District three with Adrian Smith easily winning the republican nomination. Smith will be challenged by democrat David Else and Mark Elworth Jr from the Legal Marijuana now party 


<< Previous Next >>